Vlog: TokyoPop Popped

It took some time and effort to get these words out; two nights, and I still don’t think I did the works I recommend any justice. Part of the problem is that it’s been some time since I read them; it was more important to me to get the thought out in a timely fashion than to revisit the material that TokyoPop published. (If I’d bothered to reread any Planetes, I’d know it was a mission to Jupiter and not a mission to Mars that Hachimaki’s intent on pursuing.) The other side of the problem is that while it’s easy to tear things down, building them up can be quite difficult; errors are easy to see, but the qualities that make things good, and especially the things that make things exceptional are always difficult for me to quantify. It’s doubly hard when I’m also trying not to trip over my own damn tongue on camera after a whole night of flubs ten minutes into a good roll.

One of TokyoPop's finest, Ai Yazawa's Paradise Kiss. Her next major work, Nana, would come out through Viz's Shojo Beat imprint.

You may notice some editing; the longest part that got trimmed was me complaining about TokyoPop’s treatment of the drift racing manga and anime series Initial D and using that to segue into a discussion of TokyoPop’s here-and-gone failed attempt to be an anime publisher. The Initial D thing was kind of petty, and if I wasn’t going to talk about some of my broader concerns about TokyoPop and the way they promoted themselves as a kind of movement and the way they actively tried to rally a community around them, then why bring up a nitpick like Initial D?

(Besides, their Rave Master English dub was worse. I watched about five minutes of it once; it was the first time in a long time, and the last time I remember, where the animation and dialog seemed to be from two entirely different shows. It was kind of amazing and painful.)

Another one of TokyoPop's finest, Brandon Graham's King City. Flew under the radar, had its second volume cancelled, and was only completed as a part of a co-publishing deal with Image that saw it serialized at a larger, almost magazine size. If they couldn't sell comics this good, they kind of deserve to be out of business.

Tomorrow starts another week of Robotech, as Rick, Lisa, and Ben get to meet the Zentraedi before the SDF-1 finally finds its way home, and as long as I get this coming week’s video done Friday night (pretty likely, given that I won’t be trying to recall a decade-plus of mixed emotions about a manga publisher who caused me to roll my eyes about as often as they got me excited for their latest titles and boil those emotions down to ten-to-twenty minutes), I’ll probably be moving the vlog posts to Saturdays so Sunday can feature a (WARNING, SPOILER-LADEN!) review of the week’s Doctor Who. That sort-of sounds like a plan.

One thought on “Vlog: TokyoPop Popped

  1. i have sent this to tokyopop – Hello i have a solution to your problems first i would like to say what Stu Levy has done is unfair he is just giving up to do movies and the fans are not happy so why not move shop to germany or get the UK to start licence the ongoing manga please its not fair on BLu too you have best sellers like Hetaila and Junjo Romantica how can you just give up without fighting there is allways a way and dont give up if the US are shutting donw move Stu Levy can just stop but please the rest of you dont give up and continue, i can think of anyone else bringing the rest of the mangas out with differant imprints its not good, please think of your options here ask amazon? but i would like to say this has to go on, for new titles that were selling well this is not on i cant give up i wont, so please translation Angela Liu, manufacturing Allyson De Simone, president Jhon Parker MIke and others dont give up.

    so please dont give up to find something to help.

Comments are closed.