Vlog 04.23.2011 – Tears for Strangers

Earlier this week marked the one year anniversary of the death of Robotech architect and visionary Carl Macek, and this past Tuesday Doctor Who and The Sarah Jane Adventures star Elisabeth Sladen died from cancer. These two facts put me in a melancholy mood, and I decided to reflect on the passing of these two major figures from two of my favorite entertainment franchises and the nature of the way fans mourn. A lot of thinking out loud here, and I’d be curious what your thoughts are on the subject.

The sixth series of modern Doctor Who begins today in the U.K. and North America. I’ll have some thoughts up on that tomorrow, and then it’s on to another week of Robotech, as a defiant Khyron and Miriya needle the battle fortress, we spend a day in Rick Hunter’s head, and our heroes are defeated not by Zentraedi, but by orders from headquarters.

2 thoughts on “Vlog 04.23.2011 – Tears for Strangers

  1. That’s a powerful blog man! I totally understand you. I really wish that I had a chance to meet Mr. Macek personally. Robotech, and hell Conqueror, was what REALLY got me writing when I was young. I owe so much of my love of writing to him. (And hey, you’re pretty cool in that same fashion too!)

  2. The whole “fandom mourns” thing is hard for me to grasp. According to UNICEF, about 22,000 children die worldwide each day due to poverty; according to the Bureau of Justice, over 1000 American women are killed by their partners each year. Why don’t we mourn for them and others who die daily? That said, when Carl Macek died suddenly, it admittedly shook me up; and when Harvey Pekar passed away last year… well, I still get choked up when I think about it.

    I guess the reality (and comfort) is: We live. We die. And, if we’re lucky, we leave a mark. No one is truly dead if we don’t let his/her influence die.

    Macek, on more than a few occasions, made lemonade out of lemons; I strive to do the same in approach to my own life. Pekar persevered in making his art in the midst of life’s mundanities and challenges; I’ll be damned if I cast my own creative endeavors aside, even if surrendering them would be the easier course. My grandma (who just died a few weeks ago) was loyal and loving to a fault; I intend to live my life in a similarly loyal and loving way. All those innocent kids’ and women’s deaths? They’re the reason I want to serve in the non-profit and/or public-service sectors upon graduation. And Elisabeth Sladen? She gave her time and money to a charity, the Lymphoedema Support Network; so make a donation to LSN or, better yet, give your own time and money to a charity that you’re passionate about.

    It’s true that all of us need to mourn from time-to-time. But afterwards — it’s time, then, to act as we carry those who’ve touched our psyches with us…

    p.s. I agree with Pickens — diggin’ the style!

Comments are closed.